61st place is the 60th loser. Or 420th. Whatever.

Took part in my second ever big-stake tournament over at PartyPoker. $100 buy-in plus $9 entry fee. In case you’re wondering, the first foray into the wilderness that is a massive online poker tourney, I ended up finishing somewhere in the 380s. Didn’t last beyond level 3, didn’t even win a single hand except for maybe stealing a few blinds here and there. Would rather not talk about it, honestly.

This time, though, I played somewhat better. Although I made some noticeable stumbles – with the blinds at 50-100, I raised to 500 with a KQ off-suit in middle position. Really the best hand I’d had since the beginning of the tournament. Unfortunately, the small blind – who was down to 600 chips himself before the blind – reraised all-in. Already committed, I had no choice but to call. Lo and behold, he had pocket aces. Needless to say, he doubles up at my expense, I go from relatively healthy position to somewhat unhealthy, and the rest of the table starts looking at me like I have fins sticking out of my body.

Somehow, I manage to recover, and even knock a couple players out of the tournament with some kick-ass hands. I hit a King on the turn with my K-J about 15 minutes later, and soon after that a hand of pocket queens does one of the players who had been razzing me earlier. I got up to over 7000 in chips (when the average was around 3500) when the slow leak started. Miraculously, I was still staying above water, picking up a couple hands, and keeping a close eye on the leaderboard I saw that the number of players had dwindled down to about 64. Top 50 finishers cashed. I did a quick survey of all the tables, and lookee here – I’m in 50th place right now. So all I have to do is lay low, not get too loose, and I’ll pocket some money, right?

Um, no.

After missing a flop that cost me roughly 1/4 of my stack, I was down to a little less than 2500 chips. With the blinds at 300/600, that means three more rounds of blinds and I’m through. Next hand I get pocket sevens. I’m just after the BB, but since I figure this is probably the best hand I’m gonna see for a while and I’m nearing the point where even a monster isn’t going to win me much, I make my stand and go all-in. My only hope is that I get a caller with two overcards and suck out the coinflip.

I get one caller. He has two overcards. Problem is, they’re both aces.

Flop, turn, and river come up as I chant “seven… seven… seven…” to no avail, and I’m out. 61st place. 11 out of the money.

The good news is that after depositing $50 last Sunday, I’ve still got $80. The bad news is that 48 hours ago my account had about $375.

This could turn out to be one expensive hobby.

7 thoughts on “61st place is the 60th loser. Or 420th. Whatever.

  1. donaldduck5671

    Poker

    I suggest buying on E-bay a pic of Chris Moneymaker, and hanging it on the wall, so you’ll remember you too can turn $40 into BIG BUCKS! with NO WHAMMYS!

    donald
    “I was supposed to go broke in this hand, but I didn’t like the way he raised the pot just then”-Phil Hellmuth, 1989 WSOP Champ and author, “Play Poker Like The Pros”

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Re: Poker

    MMXfan here again, remember loog, greats like Sam Farha and Phil Hellmuth and Phil Ivey and Men Nguyen all had their bad days and finished out of the money. Remember, you don’t have to be the greatest in the world of poker, just have a chip and a chair and you could do wonders.

    Reply
  3. loogaroo

    Re: Poker

    Well, I am taking some positive things out of it: I did finish about 320 places higher than I did last time.

    Still, I would like to win some money now and then. 🙂

    Reply
  4. alphaoperator

    Wait, is that with real money? Yikes.

    Just be careful not to get addicted to it, drinking and gambling are two things that have this nasty tendancy of making people end up on the street…

    Reply
  5. loogaroo

    Well, here’s my thinking.

    I deposited $50 into the account last Sunday. I managed to turn that $50 into $375 within the course of a week. So spending a portion of it on the opportunity to build some experience playing in a large-field tournament is fairly worthwhile, I think. Thing is, I play a hell of a lot better in tournaments than I do in ring games, so the fact that all that money I won came from playing at a $2/$4 table for about an hour is a bonus.

    I do appreciate the concern, though, especially since I have the tendency to throw myself into something I find interesting. (Like, say, DDR.)

    Reply
  6. alphaoperator

    Yeah, like many things in life, it’s all about responsibility. This doesn’t sound bad at all in that context.

    Gambling, the nature and psychology of the random rewards at random intervals, is very addictive. That kind of conditioning works incredibly well with animals, can be incredibly addicting, so you gotta be mindful of your actions. Plus it varies with people. Myself, I admit I have an addictive personality thing, one of the reasons I don’t do things like drink; if I drank I’d probably be one of those people drink themselves to death within a few years of starting.

    No offence, of course; I was a little concerned that you mighta’ found my comment… questionable, kinda a “playing big brother*” sorta thing. It’s not just gambling either, anything can be done to excess, it’s human nature and sometimes it absolutely destroys people. Just gotta always have you running it and not it running you, same with all kinds of things in life.

    Best of luck next time, Loog. Hey, $30 extra isn’t too bad. 😉

    * – read: being a lecturing ass

    Reply

Leave a Reply

