Baaa ba-ba baaa ba-ba ba-ba!!

Stolen from smashattack:

Ten statements. Four lies. Six truths. You figure out which is which.

1. I share a birthday with First Lady Laura Bush.
2. I once nearly fell off a third story balcony.
3. I was voted “Best Running Man Dancer” in middle school.
4. I once wrote a fan letter to Dr. Demento, and got a response.
5. A friend and I created our own pen & paper RPG called “Dragon Sword”.
6. I have come in close contact with a live wolf.
7. I’m still on Vons’ employee gift card plan.
8. I went to the high school prom by myself.
9. I had the same bike get stolen from me three times.
10. I was once brought to the University of Washington at the age of three because I showed a proficiency for music theory.

Those are your statements. Good luck.

(And no, I don’t expect most of you to understand the subject line.)

6 thoughts on “Baaa ba-ba baaa ba-ba ba-ba!!

  1. smashattack

    Tough, a lot of them seem that they would be true… so I’ll go with:

    3. Since I’m not sure what that is… (my middle school was very behind the times.)
    7. I think they’d have something to say about that if you no longer worked there.
    9. I’m mostly just wondering how you got it back after the first and second incidents…
    10. At the age of three? If that’s true, wow. But I remember studying music theory a little in high school, and that stuff is tough.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

    What’s the truth?

    Well, I’ve a few predictions:

    #1 you’re a day off, so it’s a lie. (OK, so I cheated)
    #2 I’d say true.
    #3 I’ll say true.
    #4 I think is half untrue (the response side), so I’ll say lie.
    #5 I think it’s true.
    #6 There are plenty of them in North America, I’d say true.
    #7 I don’t think baggers get that privilege, I’ll say lie.
    #8 Even I got a date. LIE
    #9 This is definitely possible, and I think it happened. Truth.
    #10 I HOPE it’s true, cause our musical abilities I believe are on the same level.

    — Will

    Reply
  3. usasatsui

    I’m gonna say…

    2 – Don’t have a justification.

    5 – You don’t seem the RPG type (and if that one is true, can you send me a copy?)

    6 – Just doubt it.

    10 – I think you were really 5.

    Reply
  4. quelkaima

    #1: You don’t appear like a November child to me.
    #5: I’m agreeing with satsui on that one, going further to say pencil/paper RPGs don’t seem your type, as opposed to video game RPGs.
    #6: When I think California, I think coyote, not wolf. (of course, there’s always vacations to prove me wrong)
    #9: Too incredible to believe. So is #10, but I digress.

    Reply
  5. loogaroo

    Here are the answers:

    1. I share a birthday with First Lady Laura Bush – FALSE
    Off by a day. My birthday’s on November 3rd, hers is on the 4th.

    2. I once nearly fell off a third story balcony. – TRUE
    When I was living in Canada, I went outside to the deck on the third floor and closed the sliding floor behind me. What I didn’t know was that said door had a tendency to lock automatically, leaving me stranded up there. Nobody else was home, so there was no one to get me down. I considered trying to jump down to the second floor porch, and actually climbed over the ledge to prepare for the leap of faith, but thought better of it. If I’d lost my grip, though, I’d have been badly injured – or worse. (Mom came home an hour later and got me out, and we had the door fixed.)

    3. I was voted “Best Running Man Dancer” in middle school – TRUE
    One of those end-of-the-year things where everyone got an award for something.

    4. I once wrote a fan letter to Dr. Demento, and got a response – TRUE
    Not just a form-letter reply, either – he made a note about how much of a They Might Be Giants fan I was.

    5. A friend and I created our own pen & paper RPG called “Dragon Sword” – TRUE
    And no, Usa, you can’t have it. That thing will never see the light of day if I have any say over it.

    6. I have come in close contact with a live wolf – FALSE
    The only contact I’ve had with a live wolf is on a television screen. But hey, it’d be nice.

    7. I’m still on Vons’ employee gift card plan – FALSE
    They finally took me off the plan in November, eight months after I’d left. So now we get to take part in all the other discounts. Yay.

    8. I went to the high school prom by myself – FALSE
    I didn’t even go. Frown frown.

    9. I had the same bike get stolen from me three times – TRUE
    The first time, we found it lying in a bush about a block away. The second time, the police recovered it about two weeks later. The third time, it was gone for good. Needless to say, that was the last bike I ever got.

    10. I was once brought to the University of Washington at the age of three because I showed a proficiency for music theory – TRUE
    And according to Mom & Dad, I completely gave them the cold shoulder. Oh well. If they’d taken me to see Mark Goodson I would’ve lit up like a Christmas tree.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

