Finally.

Two years ago around this time, I’d never heard of PSM Oni before.

When I saw it for the first time, my eyes bulged out of my head.

I remember playing it a few times out of sheer foolhardiness, knowing with complete certainty that I wasn’t going to come anywhere near passing it.

Months passed. I continued to shun the song.

Over time, I managed to pass all the other 10s – a couple of them I even managed to AA. But still, PSM Oni was far out of reach. I knew that even if I were to reach the latter portion of the song, the tangled mess of notes near the end would surely defeat me.

Last December, I had my hissy fit and walked away from DDR for three months.

Upon my return, I decided that if I’m going to start playing this stupid game again, I should work on passing the one song that eluded me all this time.

I made it a point to play it at least once every time I visited EA.

Thankfully, my time with In the Groove had gotten me acclimated both to unusual runs of fast notes, as well as the technique of using the bar to release pressure on my legs. But although I noticed myself getting further and further into that apocalyptic end run, I still could not reach the end.

Until tonight, that is.

11 thoughts on “Finally.

  1. loogaroo

    Re: YAYA!

    When I passed Mythology last week, I started thinking, “Y’know, this is about the same speed as PSM… and the twisty runs at the end are about as tough… and it’s not a long… maybe I can hack it this time.”

    Of course, a lot of it had to do with the fact that I wisened up and stopped playing in on Final Stage. 🙂

    Reply
  2. rbmkalpha

    Y’know what, I just was checking to see if there was an answer, and as I was scrolling down I saw that on the subject for your post. ACK.

    Nicely done Tim. Man, I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to do that (hardest I can pass right now is the realtively easy 9-footer “Twilight Zone.”)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

