It’s the return of everyone’s favorite LJ game…

It’s FIVE QUESTIONS!

Thanks be to gameshowman for reviving this little jewel and sending me these five questions:

1) Seriously, where did you get the idea to make your Plinko board (and are you going to bring it to the Poker Night event on the 13th?)?

I originally made a prototype Plinko board about 6 or 7 years ago, using a full-size 3′ x 4′ plywood board, nails for pegs, and mason jar lids for the chips. It didn’t work too well, mainly because the nails weren’t far enough into the board and would either deaden the chip or get knocked out of the board entirely. My attempt to redrill the holes was scrapped when I got a little overzealous with the drill and broke the bit. Since then, it’s always been in the back of my mind to try and redo it, and it wasn’t until I recently came up with the idea of using dowel rods for the pegs that I acted on it.

(And of course I’m bringing it with me. 😉 )

(Wait… it’s the 13th? Isn’t that a Friday? I put in for the 14th.)

2) What is it with you and 10-7 anyways?

While I was playing at UltimateBet, I was playing at a .25/.50 table when I got dealt a T7. I naturally folded it, but as I did so I drearily pondered the possibility that the flop might have given me a good hand. The flop came… T-7-T. I literally fell out of my chair.

A few months later, back at PartyPoker, I saw the same hand and warily mucked it again. Once again, the flop came T-7-T (same order, even). The odds of flopping a full house when you don’t have a pocket pair are 1086-1, and it happened to me twice, with the same hand, the same flop, and I folded it both times pre-flop. I vowed not to make the same mistake a third time, and from then on played T7 every time I got it. Surprisingly, it served me quite well in the beginning; I think I won 5 out of the first 6 times I played the hand, although naturally the hot streak cooled down. Eventually, I flopped two pair and made the boat on the turn with the T7, at which point I considered the hand redeemed. I still play it now and again, just to mix things up, but nowadays I won’t call more than one bet to play it.

3) Have you tried to stat John Talbain in, say, Werewolf: The Apocalypse/Forsaken?

All of my attempts to get into White Wolf games petered out within about half an hour. So, no.

4) Where did you get the idea for Buried Treasure?

In the bathtub. 😉

Seriously, though, the concept originally started as “The Time Bomb”. Same essence in the concept; players accumulated time to try and defuse a 12-segmented “Time Bomb”, 3 segments of which were live. From there, it metamorphosed into Magic Windows, which later got the name change because Magic Windows sounds dorky.

5) Pick the winner of the Jeopardy! Ultimate Tournament of Champions.

I haven’t been able to watch the tournament as much as I’d like. But Dan Melia, Brian Moore and Jerome Vered seem to be the most on the ball right now, and they’d probably give Ken the biggest run for his money.

12 thoughts on “It’s the return of everyone’s favorite LJ game…

  1. gameshowman

    The 13th. Jason Hernandez reminded me last night. You might want to make some adjustments to your schedule. And while you’re at it, lemme have five.

    Reply
  2. loogaroo

    1. Do you believe that pro wrestling is real, or do you think it’s fake but entertaining nonetheless?

    2. Do you have plans to make any other game show props/home versions in the near future?

    3. Where did your infatuation with Amy Jo Johnson originate?

    4. Travis asked you about your best hand ever. Let’s hear your worst beat.

    5. Pick one TPIR pricing game that should be axed, one that needs to be retooled (rules, staging, set, etc.), and one that ought to be revived.

    Reply
  3. loogaroo

    Hmm. I don’t know you too well, but I’ll give it a shot.

    1. Where did “dj Tifaheart” come from?

    2. Planning any more trips to California in the near future? I missed you when you went to AI.

    3. How the hell do you defeat those vampires in Illusion of Gaia? I just about gave up on the game at that point.

    4. FF6 or FF7?

    5. How ’bout them Suns, eh? 🙂

    Reply
  4. loogaroo

    1. I hate to do this on two people in a row, but… why “riversidedimple”? YOu don’t live in Riverside, and I never saw a dimple. (Not that I ever consciously looked for one, mind you.)

    2. Now that the Lakers are out of the playoffs, which NBA team are you pulling for in the playoffs?

    3. Has CB & TL ever considered marketing their drinks in retail establishments like Starbucks does? (I admit, I’ve grown fond of the Mint Mocha Frappucino. You can barely taste the coffee.)

    4. Name your three favorite PYL contestants (Whammy! included).

    5. How much did we annoy your family during that late-night Super Bowl poker tournament? (The way the final hand didn’t help, I’m sure.)

    Reply
  5. loogaroo

    1. Do you still keep in touch with Alex Moore or Spofforth at all?

    2. How do you feel about the whole Barry Bonds situation?

    3. What does a Red Sox fan do now that they’ve finally won a title? Where do they put all of that energy?

    4. Do you think the replacement of Tom Ridge with… whoever they replaced him with as Chief of Homeland Security was an improvement, a detriment, or a wash?

    5. Speaking of politics, I know you don’t like being affiliated with one particular party, but who’s the one politician you know of that best matches your ideology, and you would vote for him/her every chance you get?

    Reply
  6. loogaroo

    Damn, I wish I got this kind of response last time I did this! 🙂

    1. When did you start growing your goatee?

    2. How long does it usually take you to come up with an FS routine?

    3. What time do you get up/go to bed? I swear, you stay up later than I do – and I don’t go to school anymore.

    4. How much time do you usually devote to playing WoW on any particular day?

    5. You have 149 interests listed, including: (ahem) cheese, chocolate milk, grilled cheese sandwhiches, honey teddy grams, ice cream, in n out, milk, orange chicken, pepsi, pizza, red bull, shakes, spaghetti, steak, subway, taco bell, and white grape juice. What possessed you to include all those? ;P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

