Fuck everything.

I am really, really, really pissed off right now. Four weeks of hard work have essentially gone down the toilet.

As many of you probably know, I’ve been working on a DVD for the ITG tournament that I attended last month. I’ve spent four weeks capturing video, editing it down, screwing around with the DVD authoring software and whatnot. I finally burned a copy of it just now.

It is the single most terrible video I’ve ever seen.

The video quality resembles that of a 3rd-generation VHS dub. The titles are all chopped off along the bottom and left edges. The frame rate is about 15 FPS. The audio sounds like one of the channels isn’t working. The production value of this damn DVD couldn’t even be considered of amateur level. And that’s not even considering the god-awful software that won’t even let me add chapter titles to the individual matches. The whole product is absolutely atrocious. And if I didn’t delete the raw footage from my hard drive to save space (it took up about 25% of my C drive), I’d probably still have to recapture everything; even the quality of the un-rendered bonus videos was mediocre at best.

There’s no way in hell I could sell this thing. Absolutely no way. This project was a disaster, through and through.

4 thoughts on “Fuck everything.

  1. m1_prominence

    Uhh think about it this way, I guarentee you it is the absolute best DVD I have ever had made for a tournament. It only costs $10, that’s less then Manos. You can sell it.

    Reply
  2. loogaroo

    I would reconsider, if not for two things:

    1) The titles are really screwed up. Seriously. In the qualifying round, when it should say:

    “Loogaroo
    95.60%
    Qualified #29″

    Instead it says:

    “oogaroo
    5.60%”

    The first character and the bottom row of just about every title is chopped just like that. If the video quality was immaculate, this in itself might have been enough to make me scrap it.

    2) The DVD has been available for purchase for a week and a half, and so far I’ve had exactly one person buy a copy. So the demand isn’t there anyway.

    Reply
  3. rbmkalpha

    Wow, freakin’ huge bummer. Sorry to hear about that Loog. Did you just transfer the video from a DV camera or have to capture everything from a VHS tape (which IMHO is the pits even with a semi-decent capture system.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

