Or as he said, “YG5Q”.

Here’s five questions from someone who manages to be even more conservative than me, blingblogger:

1. What was your inspiration for the Ki’rath saga?

Oh, look what you’ve done. Now I’m going to have to write another chapter for it. 🙂

It’s really a combination of things. I actually wrote an unfinished short story back in high school about a student named Hogan who finds a book written in a language only he can read, gets struck by lightning, gains powers, then goes off and fights… something. Like I said, it never got finished. It didn’t help that I was trying to go through the entire story without Hogan having any dialogue. You’ll notice that Hogan doesn’t actually start talking until halfway through Chapter 1.

Beyond that, this was right around the time I got Cartoon Network on our cable service, and so I was exposed to two archetypal hero-vs.-baddies animes, Dragonball Z and Yu Yu Hakusho. I enjoyed them, and got to thinking about what sort of serial would come about if I were to add in my own preferred elements of plot and circumstance. Remembering the aborted story I’d done several years ago, I decided that I had a decent enough starting point to give it a try. (Now if I could just get more than three people to read it…)

2. At what point in your life did you “grow up” and realize you were a conservative?

Although I don’t think I ever held any liberal viewpoints, it wasn’t until the impeachment of president Clinton that I really took notice of what each side was actually saying. Once that happened, I immediately repudiated the Democratic party.

3. Name the three greatest NES titles of all time.

Mega Man 2, Super Dodge Ball, Final Fantasy. In that order. 🙂

4. How did you deal with the criticisms leveled at you by members of the ATGS community when you ran the annual GS Tournaments some years back?

Not particularly well. First off was that GusMahler fellow who was peeved that I was taking time off my hosting of ‘Net Pyramid to run the GST. Then again, considering the source, nobody really paid him much mind.

The following year, Jeremy Soria waited until the day before the deadline to the final match to start voting, even though I’d told everyone that you had to start voting earlier just so everyone wouldn’t wait until the last minute to come out of the woodwork. TPIR beat Millionaire by one vote, and Jeremy gets all huffy. Hey, I wanted Millionaire to win too. If I really wanted to manipulate the results of the matches, I would’ve replaced Tom Sabbatelli’s deciding vote with Jeremy’s, but rules are rules and those who don’t follow the rules can’t complain. It was especially funny when Jeremy posted a VH1 poll of the Top Ten Disco Songs Ever in one of his WWTBAM recaps and asked, “Was Tim Connolly in charge of this list?” as if I was now the poster boy for any time the public in general disagreed with him.

But the ’01 tournament was by far the most painful. Randy and David really went way overboard with the way they treated me and the tournament as a whole. They pretty much scared most of the high-profile members of the mailing list away from participating – Mark Jeffries and Michael Klauss, who both provided analysis and predictions in the ’00 tournament, declined to help out in ’01. (Mark cited some vague personal matters, but it was obvious he didn’t want to be associated with the GST.) I felt really alienated by the group when all I wanted to do was hold a novel little event where we vote on our favorite show in an unorthodox manner. The tournament didn’t really recover from the whole mess, either, and I was so concerned about facing the daily mud-slinging that the last two GSTs were held pretty much out of the sight of the main group.

The worst thing about it all was that up to that point, I thought Randy Amasia was a pretty cool guy – funny, smart, knew the genre inside and out, and seemed generally friendly. Unfortunately, the ’01 GST showed me that he also had a very nasty side, and the worst thing you could do was incur his wrath, because where Randy went, everyone else followed.

5. If you met L.A. Times editor-in-chief John Carroll on the street tomorrow, what would you say to him?

“Arnold Schwarzenegger groped me too.”

One thought on “Or as he said, “YG5Q”.

  1. tleberle

    Anyone who pays Gus or Jeremy any attention deserves what they get. I don’t, so it’s no problem. He’s just another game show geek who happens to love Bemani and running his mouth.

    The thing that I didn’t like is at the end of one tournament, it got down to Jeopardy! and Pyramid. (Probably was ’03 or something like that.) As one of those who stuck it out since the beginning, I got to vote for the big winner. I sat down, rolled it over in my head, and wrote out my decision in two paragraphs. When it came time to look through the final fifteen votes, my analysis was distilled into one line. And there was no mention of editing the preambles down, it looked like I just flipped a coin to pick. It wasn’t like that at all.

    To that end, I’m not big on those types of things, since it’s voted on by people who have an agenda before-hand. (Video game characters, best movie, album, or what-have-you). So it comes down to whatever is the flavor of the moment. Do one every four years or so, and it’s more of a big deal. But every year? You saw what happened-TPIR got retired.

    I don’t know what happened to cause Randy and Dave turn on you like that; I still chat with Dave, and he’s a perfectly nice guy, as was Randy when he was around. I am sorry if that’s what turned you off from doing it; ATGS was turning into a pit anyhow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

