OK, so here’s what happened.

At 2:45 in the afternoon, I left home to go to work. This time, I was scheduled to work at the FOX Studios with a 3:30 call time. Seeing as I’d never been to these studios before, I took with me the directions printed out from Google Maps. It’s about 3:20 when I realize that I’ve been on Santa Monica Blvd. for a good long time, and begin to suspect that made a wrong turn. At about 3:35 (5 minutes late already), I reach Beverly Hills, and now I’m convinced I turned the wrong way onto the street. So, I turn around, and head back the other way down Santa Monica.

Fast forward to about half an hour later. Now I think I’m on my way. Someone from the AU office called me, and I let them know that I goofed and was on my way, shouldn’t be more than 15-20 minutes. About 10-15 minutes later, I’m driving merrily along, when I discover that the street I’m on is no longer Santa Monica Blvd., but Sunset Blvd. G’AAAAH.

So I turn back around, call AU and tell them that I’m now going to be way late, and head all the way back down Santa Monica. Little did I know that I actually have to pretty much drive through Beverly Hills in order to get to the Studio. At about 5:00 in the evening, I finally reach the cross street that I needed to take. Huzzah! Well, not really. I couldn’t find the next cross street after that, depsite the fact that the street I was now on wasn’t particularly long. I go so far as to pull into one of the high-end hotels that litter the landscape and ask one of the valets for directions. And herein lies the problem: When I got directions off of Google, I probably gave them the wrong address. So now I’m totally confused.

At about 5:30, I finally pull into a gas station, call the AU Office, and tell them that I couldn’t find the studio, and seeing as I’m already two hours late, I’m just going to go back home.

You know, I’m beginning to wonder if I’m really cut out for this whole television thing. It’s like the kid who grows up wanting to be a baseball player, then finds out he can’t hit a curveball. If I can’t find my way around Los Angeles, then that’s not going to help my chances of finding work in this business at all. I’m just glad the folks at work were understanding – I was on the verge of tears when I called them the last time, having been in my car for almost three hours, being two hours late for work, completely and totally frustrated. Even if I did find the studio by then, I would’ve gotten there far too late to be of any help, and I was so mentally wiped out I wouldn’t have been much help anyway.

7 thoughts on “

  1. usasatsui

    …so you got lost in LA? I wouldn’t worry. Having been lost in some of the greatest cities of the nation (Boston, New York, San Francisco, and even Salt Lake City for about 10 minutes), I can tell you this does happen. Sorry to hear about a crappy day, though

    Reply
  2. loogaroo

    Re: Huh?

    You have to realize – I’m a Three-Step-Panic type of guy. If something goes catastrophically wrong, I panic, and not only do I panic, I panic three steps into the future. In yesterday’s case, the panic was:

    1. I’m never going to find this studio.
    2. I’m going to be fired.
    3. I’m never going to find another TV job ever again.

    Reply
  3. gsnnwriter

    Re: Huh?

    I hate to sound like my mentor, but you absolutely have to get some thick skin and a non-panic attitude to survive. If you want to do what I know you want to do, then you can’t let that sort of stuff throw you for a loop. If the higher-ups read that off you, then they will eat you for dinner. Sauteed Loog with some butter and fava beans on the side, with or without chiante.

    G.

    Reply
  4. rbmkalpha

    Re: Huh?

    I’ve actually had similar panic reactions now and then. Being concerned about your job and your future is one thing, but when you panic you can never think clearly.

    “2. I’m going to be fired.”

    This is a possibility that falls with all kinds of jobs. But, personally, I’ve worked with people who were pretty understanding about mistakes. I would understand someone getting badly lost in Los Angeles of all places. Employers worth their salt understand that their people make mistakes, and look at the circimstances. It’s not “you didn’t get to work today” but it’s “WHY didn’t you get to work today.”

    “3. I’m never going to find another TV job ever again.”

    Do you really think that’s true, Loog? I’ll tell ya what, if I was an employer and you told me “I got fired once because I got badly lost because I messed up the instructions on getting there” I’d be like “Hell, that could happen to anyone. It wasn’t like you were dead drunk and woke up at 6PM, or doing something stupid like that.”

    No, it doesn’t seem like a baseball player never being able to hit a curve ball.

    My question to you: what positive things can or did you learn from your misadventure today?

    Again, I’ve actually been through some of this. I actually had some psych stuff that was a bit like OCD and I had terrible anxiety and almost-paranoid worries about things like this. So saying “don’t worry” is a whole @#$@#$ lot easier said than done. But yeah, panic is the worst response. Any survival expert will tell you that in really bad situations, about 1/2 of the people survive – those are the people who don’t panic. Other people completely freak and make terrible mistakes that seem unbelieveably obvious to someone who isn’t panicked.

    I wish I could give you some solid, additional advice. You gotta try and break out of that panic cycle that you have. It takes time, but it will help you a lot if you can do it.

    Reply
  5. smashattack

    Re: Huh?

    As Alpha said… if your boss decides to fire you for getting lost (which I doubt he will), then would you really want to work with him anyway?

    You need a copy of the Hitchhiker’s Guide. “DON’T PANIC!” 🙂

    Just keep trying… I’m sure you’ll find your way around town. On one of your days off, just drive around all day and see what you find.

    Reply
  6. rbmkalpha

    Re: Huh?

    Yeah, but again, the thing is that for a lot of people, not panicking is a LOT easier said than done.

    I used to have similar anxiety cycles – “I’m gonna get in trouble and not get accepted into college and then I’m gonna die homeless and alone.” No, I’m not joking. It really sucked.

    Oh yeah, and knowing you’re Christian, Loog:

    Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)

    Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life[? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest? (Luke 12:25-26)

    I’ve had some rough times, and the thing I’ve found is that I haven’t always gotten what I wanted, but I feel like I’ve always been provided with what I really need.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

