Cue the annual ulcer.

EAT5 begins in roughly 10 hours. We currently have 13 people pre-registered (not counting the sponsor of the tournament who we forgot to put on the list but is getting the pre-reg perks nonetheless)

In the past 90 minutes or so, djtyrant has IMed about 5 or 6 people who either pre-regged or were pretty firm locks on coming. I believe all of them have said that, for one reason or another, they’re not going to be able to make it.

Now, everyone in the DDR community knows me as a person who doesn’t usually mince words. I also have a tendency to wear my emotions on my sleeve quite a bit. But truth be told, if I go to EA tomorrow and see four people show up for the tournament, I am going to be monumentally pissed.

I don’t think most of you realize how big of a limb I’ve gone out on for the sake of this tournament. Just to give you an idea of what I’ve done for the tournament over the past few months:

1) I had to ask the manager at work to give me the time off to run this tournament. Bear in mind, I’ve worked at the Bike for barely three months, and the concept of getting personal days off with almost no seniority over anyone who works in the cage is basically unheard of.

2) I practically had to beg the owner of EA to give us the opportunity to run the tournament. EA has hit some rough times as of late, and the owner was very skittish abut having a tournament where people who primarily are there to arrow smash and not partake in their main revenue source (PC use) will be camping around the facility for two days. As a matter of fact, this thing was supposed to be a Friday-Saturday event, and I had to push the events back a day or else face the impossible task of having six events run for a cumulative total of twelve hours.

3) I have spent over $400 in my own money, of which I have very little to spare, to not only buy the necessary props, prizes, and elements required to run the tournament, but also fly a good friend out from Washington State to help me run the event.

There aren’t many people in the DDR/ITG community who are known for running tournaments, and that’s because it takes so much of a financial and personal investment to really carry off well. Every year, this sort of thing happens, where all of a sudden people start to flake and come up with reasons why they can’t make it, and up to now things have managed to straighten out regardless. But this year, it feels different than before. Unlike previous tournament, I can’t think of very many people who didn’t pre-reg but that I can still count on A) attending and B) competing. I feel like this is going to be a repeat of the very first EAT tournament – two days worth of events for a grand total of ten people. That was fine then, because it was a new tournament at a new venue and people didn’t really know what to expect. But this is my last tournament, my last chance to do one of these things and give something back to the community, and it just infuriates me that so few people are willing to respect the hard work that Jimmy, Jon & I have gone through to put all this together.

I have always been of the opinion that pre-registering for a tournament is a commitment to be there. You don’t just do it because you want to save a few bucks on entries in case you decide to show up. You’re telling the organizer, “Hey, I want to be a part of this, and you can bet on me being there.” Failing to honor a pre-registration isn’t just flaking, in my book. It’s lying. If you weren’t going to be able to go, then you shouldn’t have made the commitment.

On that note, I hope that everyone has an enjoyable time at EAT5. And those hat aren’t able to go, you better have a damn good reason. Otherwise, I will have very little respect for you in the future.

2 thoughts on “Cue the annual ulcer.

  1. smartguy323

    Well maybe Im excused. At the moment I have around $250 in my bank account. But I cant spend any of that money cuz $300 goes to rent and $60 to phone bill . So how exactly am I gonna do this: keep telling my mom imma pay her more the next month. Im pretty much dead broke at the moment and the drive to Ventura is far enuff. I really wanted to go but I dont have much in gas. I havent been able to go out as of recent and Ive pretty much been playing 3’s cuz its cheaper. So yeah my excuse is a tough financial crisis. Sorry buddy :/

    Reply
  2. nnnnnnnooooooo

    I really hope someone handed the message onto you like I asked. My mom hurt her back in such a way that she can’t move her neck, so I had to drive her to the chiropractor/hospital and sit in waiting rooms all day. I’m really sorry man. : /

    I’ll definitely come by tomorrow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

