One year.

On this day last year, I was packing up the last of my belongings, putting them in my car and my brother-in-law’s truck, and driving out to Glendale.

One year later, I’m still here.

I must say, in the face of the troubles and near-disasters that befell me in the past 12 months, this is quite an accomplishment. I had to work at four different jobs before I found one that would make ends meet. In the meantime, I suffered through some of, if not the, worst days of my life. Fortunately, I had a support system of family and friends to get me back on my feet and on track.

I’ve got some goals for the next 12 months:

– Pay off my car. I’ve got 15 payments left on it, and if I can keep throwing money in savings as I’ve done the past couple of months, I should be able to get ahead enough on the car to pay the whole thing by this time next year.
– Start looking for a relationship. I know there’s someone out there who can tolerate a libertarian game show geek who doesn’t drink and prefers a traditional courtship over the tab-A-into-slot-B lifestyle that’s rampant these days.
– Get Buried Treasure produced. I tried to do it over the summer, but the plans stalled when the one studio I found that had the technical capability to do it cancelled on me.
– And just like I resolved in ’05, enjoy life no matter what.

Leave a Reply

