Hmm… I haven’t been very talkative as of late, have I?

Well, first off, I’m pleased to say that after about four months of cowering in fear of my bank balance, that I’ve finally managed to “catch up” with my bills. Granted, messenger work is not what I plan to do on a permanent basis, but at least now I don’t have to worry about scrambling to find a way to stay solvent. Unfortunately, my tax refund basically got eaten up by the electronic filing fees, but at least I don’t owe anything to Uncle Sam.

Secondly, I don’t know how many people here are interested (and how many of those haven’t been bludgeoned with this already), but my Game Show Rules Wiki is going swimmingly well. I’ve had about three or four people helping me put it together, and we’re now up to 61 rulesheets out of the 134 I had in my old Rules Repository. I’m hoping to have all the old rulesheets done by the end of summer; I’m giving myself that much time to do the rest of them simply because I don’t want to be sitting in front of the computer for hours at a time the way I have the past couple of weeks.

In other news, I went to my first live baseball game on Friday, as riversidedimple and I went to the Dodgers-Pirates game by virtue of the tickets he won in a radio contest. I must say, watching baseball at the ballpark is far, far, far most interesting than watching it on TV. Although I still can’t say I’m much of a baseball fan, I can say I have more appreciation for the sport now. (Of course, once Bonds hits #756, you can forget that sentiment.)

EA’s opened once again in Ventura, although the location isn’t quite as good as it once was. I’ve only managed to make it down there a couple of times, and every time I’ve been there the arcade has been practically dead. The owner wants me to help set up a tournament once all the logistics are figured out (such as finding a date that won’t have a concert going on in the other room), but the way the former regulars have been complaining about the staff and the environment over there, I wonder if it’ll make any difference to drive business back in there. And yes, I still play the odd game of DDR every so often – it helps when the arcade not 100 yards away from you finally got around to fixing their machine and unlocking everything.

And now, for the hockey update:


Tim Connolly Watch 2007

Game 3: 1 Assist (PP) in 3-2 win @ New York Islanders
Game 4: No points in 4-2 win @ NYI
Game 5: 1 Assist in 4-3 win vs. NYI (Sabres win series, 4-1)

Playoff totals: 0 goals, 3 assists, +2 rating

That’s it for now. See you guys in three weeks, I guess.

One thought on “

  1. nangbaby

    Random words shaped in the form of a reply

    I’m surpised you were able to do so much with your wiki, especially in terms of customization of layout. That’s awesome in of itself, and the fact that you were able to get the rules for so many shows transferred is amazing. I need to remember to check your site more often, silly me.

    It’s also good to hear your finances are getting better! Bills are a pain, but if you can keep them at bay, then things are looking up.

    Finally, I’m glad you got a chance to catch a baseball game. Then again, I don’t know if you can actually call any game with the Pirates in it a MLB game since they play like a minor-league team. (Yeah, I hate the Pirates and the Penguins but love the Steelers, go figure.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

